How Do You Know Runners are AWESOME?

If my marathon got cancelled, I’d be pretty sad. But in the light of hurricane Sandy, I would absolutely do this: Image

NYC marathoners that were supposed to have their race this morning instead volunteered on Staten Island.  Just awesome…so much respect.

I did get some motivation to run myself late this morning- my friend Thomas Pederson (The Baldman Chronicles) hosts a virtual 5k at least once/year.  Great idea. Unfortunately, I learned a lesson:  heavy leg days and running stadiums towards the end of the week are not conducive to a long run.  So, I ended up doing the interval run/walk thing (I always feel like all the other runners are judging me when I have to do this).

Image

Got back in for a late breakfast- my muesli mix inspired yet again: banana, apple, muesli, soy milk.  Yumm.  I added a hard-boiled egg for protein (for those of you that know me well, yes…I AM the worst vegan ever.  Won’t eat meat but I will eat cage-free eggs).

Image

After breakfast I focused on giving Big Bertha and Laney a little TLC– both needed baths!

Image

Laney was much more difficult to wash than Big Bertha (don’t even pretend you don’t name your vehicles!!).  Squirrels and acorns rule Laneys world, and that is her only focus.  Sometimes I feel like I live in a cartoon. Laney, you’re so cliche.

Lunch was leftovers.  Waste not, want not!  I could talk for a long time about food sustainability, but I’ll save that for another day 🙂

Image

On a side note, this is the first time I’ve finished a bag of spinach before having to throw it away.  Veggies are making me feel amazing…

My friend Andi brought me some ears of corn… I need to figure out some good corn recipes- any suggestions?

Image

One response to “How Do You Know Runners are AWESOME?

  1. Pingback: Get Your Rear in Gear Race Report | The Baldman Chronicles

Love to hear from you!

