A Typical Day in the Life…

Laney: “Mom, it’s too early to get up.”  Me: “Yeah… you’re right” (thank god for snooze alarm…).  Laney’s not an early morning dog.  Unfortunately, it’s the only time I know for sure I can get in a run or meet my personal trainer.  This morning though, I opted for sleep (which happens sometimes, not gonna lie).

When I finally came to life 45 minutes later, I needed a pick-me-up. Part of my challenge is to wean myself off of coffee.  I’ve been a coffee drinker

since I was 18… this is probably not going to be easy (but I’m always up for a health challenge!).  I reached for a supplement I begged off my mom (thanks mom!).

Breakfast hasn’t been exciting lately.  Also really not that fulfilling, but I’m always in a rush to get out the door and I have the attitude of “I don’t really care how food tastes”- as long as I get it down so I have enough energy to get through the morning (and honestly, I’m usually hungry within an hour). Cereal and soy milk it was- on my way out the door.

Made it to work!  Have I mentioned I love my job?  Today I had a big presentation to the VP of Student Affairs and all of the department heads.  Healthy Campus is an initiative that I’ve spent a lot of time on.  It provides evidence-based objectives to get students, faculty, and staff healthy on college campuses all across America.  Exciting initiative, right?  I think so.

Socio-ecological model of health and behavior change

After a successful presentation that a great roundtable afterwards, I got back to  my office and discovered a Halloween treat waiting for me from our sweet accounting guy, Bob.  Did anyone else forget it was Halloween today?  Yeah, I’m that girl.

Eeek… is that the coffee habit I’m trying to kick? 🙂 He’s sweet anyway! (left to right: me, one of my building supervisor’s Demi- yes, her gift was a rock)

Had lunch with a colleague in student affairs today.  It’s funny, we work in the same division at FSU, but we had never met until we went to a conference in Boca Raton, Florida a few weeks ago!  We had great discussions about our careers and maintaining balance.  Eddie told me he has recently lost about 100 lbs!  Congratulations, Eddie- what an inspiration.  I told him that I was looking for new health challenges also, and he was encouraging when I told him I was going to star a blog (even if I feel very much on display).

Being that I love a good evidence-based/data-driven goal or objective, I decided to begin my health challenge with my own data.  How am I supposed to

I felt like I was getting into the mothership- only in spandex and with a cap on!

know what my challenge entails if I don’t know where I currently stand?? I know I’ve been in trouble for a couple months… you  know that feeling when your pants get tighter and tighter and then you just don’t even try?  Yup, that’s me.  I heart spandex right now.  But I need quantitative data!  I opted for both BodPod and skinfold measurements this afternoon.  The results, my friends, were basically what I expected.

Height: 5′ 7.5″ (ok, I honestly always thought I was taller)

Weight: 157 (uhh… I’ve gained 10 lbs since I’ve stepped on a scale 3 months ago)

% BodyFat: 28%

Eek!  For me, this was an eye-opener.  When getting body comps before, I’ve always been 25% body fat or under.  28% is an ‘acceptable’ range, but I’ve never been one to settle on ‘acceptable.  This provided an excellent opportunity for a challenge.

So now for my goals:

1.   21% body fat by April 2013.

2. Run the Tallahassee half-marathon 2/3/13.

3. Successfully give up dependence on coffee.

4. Improve overall nutritional health.  The USDA guideline is 5+ servings of fruits/veggies/day.  I DEFINTELY don’t meet that guideline.

Blogging will be my accountability… however, a few disclaimers:  I can’t promise to blog everyday!  But I’ll do my best to update.  I know that this isn’t only for me, but for other people that have goals.  One of my most inspiring friends, Meghann, started a blog “mealsandmiles” that I have been reading for years.  Also, a blog is just that- a BLOG, a personal and opinionated account of my life, and I can promise that any views I hold or any opinions I have are strictly mine and do not reflect any other person, organization, or entity associated with me.

I’m excited to begin this challenge, thanks for reading, and here’s to sparking happiness, health, and wellness!

5 responses to “A Typical Day in the Life…

  1. GO APRIL! Glad that we got to have a lunch date! Can’t wait to hear about all of your successes with your new challenge! Best wishes! 😀

Love to hear from you!

